Living with Diabetes

Diabetes and Your Life

Diabetes and Driving

For the most part you should be ok driving if you have Diabetes. However, in some situations you may need to refrain from driving. If you've got Diabetes, you need to be aware of the risks involved otherwise you will be a danger to yourself and others on the road. Read more

Diabetes and Sick Days

No one likes to get sick. But if you've got Diabetes, you need to take extra care of yourself when you do. When you are sick, your body reacts by releasing hormones and other substances to fight the infection. These hormones can raise blood sugar levels and at the same time make it more difficult for insulin to bring your blood sugar levels back to normal. When you have Diabetes, even a minor illness can lead to dangerously high blood sugar level. This may cause life-threatening complications, such as diabetic ketoacidosis. Read more

Diabetes and Smoking

Smoking is a habit in which people have adapted for decades. The best known adverse effect of smoking is that it can cause various types of cancer. However, smoking will greatly increase your chances of developing the complications of Diabetes. Moreover, people with Diabetes who smoke are three times as likely to die of cardiovascular disease as are other people with Diabetes who do not smoke. Read more

Diabetes and Stress

Stress results when a situation causes the body to adapt or react as if it were under attack. This is known as the fight-or-flight response. Stress may be caused by physical factors such as illness or injury, or psychological factors including unresolved relationships, financial or health problems, unresolved work issues, or exams. When the body is under stress, the levels of various hormones are raised. This stimulates the body to release stored sugar into the bloodstream, providing the cells with more energy for the fight-or-flight response. Read more

Diabetes and Travelling

People with Diabetes can enjoy travelling just as much as anyone else. You can usually do all the things that you want to do when travelling with a little extra planning. How you prepare depends on where you're going and for how long. If you are travelling from Kuwait, two weeks of vacation spent in a resort in Egypt for example is different than a couple days spent in Dubai. Read more

Diabetes and Your Work

In order for Diabetes not to affect your work, you need to have good control of your Diabetes and be able to adjust your treatment around your working day if necessary. If you manage your Diabetes by diet alone, or diet and tablets, most types of employment are possible providing you do not display complications of Diabetes. Maintaining excellent blood sugar level control is the most important factor in avoiding Diabetes-related complications. Read more

التعايش مع السكري

السكري وحياتك

السكري وقيادة السيارة

 لا يفترض أن يعيقك مرض السكري عن قيادة السيارة بصورة عامة. ولكن قد يتيعن عليك في بعض الحالات أن تتجنب القيادة وأن تعي المخاطر التي تتعرض لها أنت والآخرون أثناء قيادة السيارة. لقراءة المزيد

العناية بالسكري أيام المرض

يتعرض مريض السكري لوعكات صحية بسيطة أو شديدة أحيانا، مما يعني الحاجة إلى عناية أكبر خلال تلك الفترة، حيث يفرز الجسم هرمونات ومواد أخرى لمقاومة المرض. وقد تتسبب تلك المواد بتعطيل عمل الإنسولين أو التقليل من فاعليته مما يؤدي إلى رفع مستوى السكر في الدم عن المعدل المناسب للمريض. علما بأن هناك مضاعفات خطيرة أخرى قد تنتج عند ارتفاع مستوى السكر في الدم مثل الحماض الكيتوني السكري(DKA). لقراءة المزيد

السكري والتدخين

التدخين من العادات السيئة التي يعاني منها المجتمع منذ زمن بعيد واستمرت على مدى عقود حتى وقتنا الحالي. وقد بات من المعروف أن التدخين يتسبب بمشاكل صحية على رأسها السرطان. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن التدخين يزيد إلى حد كبير من نسبة حدوث مضاعفات مرض السكري، حيث أن المصابين بالسكري من المدخنين هم عُرضة للوفاة بسبب أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية بثلاث مرات أكثر من المصابين بالسكري غير المدخنين. لقراءة المزيد

السكري والإجهاد النفسي/التوتر

ينتجُ الإجهاد النفسي/التوتر عندما يدفعُ موقفٌ ما الجسم على الاستجابة كما لو كان يتعرضُ لهجومٍ ما، وهي حالة معروفة باسم الاستجابة للقتال أو الهروب (نظرية الكر والفر). قد ينتج التوتر عن عوامل فيسيولوجية مثل المرض أو التعرض للإصابات، أو بسبب عوامل نفسية مثل العلاقات المضطربة، أو المشاكل المالية أو الصحية، أو مشاكل العمل العالقة، أو الامتحانات. عندما يتعرَّض الجسم للضغوطات، ترتفع مستويات بعض الهرمونات المختلفة، مما يحفِّز الجسم على إطلاق كميات من السكر المخزون إلى مجرى الدم مانحاً الخلايا المزيد من الطاقة للقتال أو الهروب. لقراءة المزيد

العناية بالسكري أثناء السفر

يمكن للمصاب بالسكري الاستمتاع بالسفر مثل أي شخص آخر. بإمكانك أن تفعل كل ما ترغب به عند السفر مع القليل من التخطيط والتنظيم، كما الأخذ بعين الإعتبار بأن التحضيرات اللازمة للسفر قد تختلف باختلاف المكان الذي ستذهب إليه والمدة التي ستقضيها هناك. لقراءة المزيد

السكري والعمل

حتى لا يؤثر السكري على عملك، عليك أن تسيطر على المرض بصورة جيدة وتتبع خطة علاجية تتناسب مع ظروف عملك إذا لزم الأمر. لقراءة المزيد