Living with Diabetes

Diabetes and Ramadan

Ramadan

About two billion Muslims around the world celebrate the holy month of Ramadan each year. It is the ninth month of the Muslim calendar and it is the month of fasting. Fasting is one of the five pillars of Islam and it is compulsory for every Muslim adult. 

Who should fast during Ramadan?

What are the exemptions from fasting?

Under certain circumstances, a few groups are exempt from fasting. However, they are required to make up the number of days missed later or give a certain amount of money to charity. People who fall under this category are listed below:

If I have Diabetes, can I fast?

You should discuss this with your healthcare team before making a decision. People with Diabetes are generally exempt from fasting because their condition may place them at high risk of various complications as their meal pattern, food quantity and fluid intake is markedly changed.
Fasting during Ramadan has been uniformly discouraged by the medical professionals for most people with Diabetes. However, people who have their condition under control, either by diet or using tablets, are at a lower risk of having complications. Some, may even benefit if a healthy diet is followed. It is important to know, however, that your healthcare team may need to make some changes to your medication regimen if you do take the decision to fast during this month.

People whose Diabetes is not adequately controlled and those who are taking insulin or other treatments that can increase the risk of hypoglycemia (low blood sugar levels) are advised not to fast due to the risk of complications.

Diabetes is a condition which varies significantly in its severity from one person to another. Hence, it is impossible to generalize about who should fast and who should not.

Hazards of fasting for people with Diabetes

Complications of fasting during Ramadan for people with Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes are serious and can present multiple risks including hypoglycemia, hyperglycemia, dehydration, thrombosis, and diabetic ketoacidosis. For many people with Diabetes, managing complications is best accomplished by avoiding the fast completely.

The alteration of eating pattern without appropriate adjustment to the dosage and timing of insulin and/or oral medications may result in deterioration of glycemic (blood sugar) control and a higher risk of complications.

Furthermore, when Ramadan occurs during the summer months as is the case in Kuwait, prolonged fasting may create greater potential hazards. It is therefore important to discuss the management of Diabetes during Ramadan with your healthcare team.

Precautions for those who fast

The importance of continued compliance with dietary recommendations should be emphasized. Breaking the fast after sunset is not an excuse for over-eating and indulging!

You should avoid foods high in sugar and fats. You should also try to eat most of your carbohydrates at the pre-dawn meal as opposed to at the break of the fast later on during the day.

If you have Diabetes and you decide to fast. You should break your fast if the following occur:

Praying is a form of physical activity and should be taken into consideration as changes in physical activity can affect your blood sugar levels.

If you are fasting, be sure to monitor your blood sugar levels more frequently during the fast, including adjustment of medications as needed and work closely with your healthcare team. Testing your blood sugar levels will not break your fast.

Remember the following about Diabetes and Ramadan:

التعايش مع السكري

السكري وشهر رمضان

يحتفل حوالي ملياري مسلم حول العالم بشهر رمضان في كل عام. شهر رمضان هو الشهر التاسع في التقويم الإسلامي وهو شهر الصوم. صوم رمضان هو أحد أركان الإسلام الخمس، وهو واجب على كل مسلم بالغ وعاقل وقادر.

من هم الأشخاص الواجب عليهم الصيام خلال شهر رمضان؟

أصحاب الأعذار في الصيام:

الدين الإسلامي دين يسر ورحمة، حيث أباح الإسلام الإفطار لأصحاب الأعذار، مع وجوب القضاء أو الكفارة (الفدية) وهي إطعام مسكين عن كل يوم. وأصحاب الأعذار هم:

هل يمكن لمريض السكري الصوم؟

يجب استشارة فريق الرعاية الطبية قبل اتخاذ قرار الصوم. يُعفى مرضى السكري عموماً من الصيام لأنهم عرضة إلى حد كبير للإصابة بمضاعفات صحية خطيرة بسبب التغيير الكبير الذي قد يطرأ على النظام الغذائي والسوائل والأدوية التي يتناولها المريض خلال الشهر الفضيل.

أجمع المختصون في المجال الطبي على أن الكثير من مرضى السكري لا يجب عليهم الصوم . وبالرغم من ذلك، فإن بعض مرضى السكري هم أقل عرضة للإصابة بالمضاعفات نتيجة الصيام ومنهم الذين يمكنهم السيطرة على السكري، سواء عن طريق الحمية أو باستخدام الأقراص الدوائية. كما أن البعض منهم قد يستفيد من الصيام في حال اتباع نظام غذائي صحي. من المهم كذلك العلم بأنه قد يقوم فريق الرعاية الطبية بإجراء بعض التعديلات في البرنامج العلاجي في حال قررت الصيام خلال شهر رمضان.

ينصح مرضى السكري الذين تصعب لديهم السيطرة على السكري وأولئك الذين يستخدمون الإنسولين أو غيره من الأدوية التي تزيد من خطر الإصابة بنوبات انخفاض مستوى السكر في الدم، وذلك لأنهم أكثرعرضة للإصابة بالمضاعفات أثناء الصوم.

تختلف حدة  مرض السكري من شخص إلى آخر، وبالتالي، فإنه من الصعب التعميم بشأن من يجب عليه الصوم ومن عليه الامتناع عنه.

المضاعفات التي قد يتعرض لها مرضى السكري أثناء الصوم

المضاعفات التي قد يتعرض لها مرضى السكري بصفة عامة خطيرة وتشمل نوبات هبوط السكر، وارتفاع السكر، والجفاف، والجلطات، والحماض الكيتوني السكري (DKA). لذا فإن العديد من مرضى السكري يُنصحون بالامتناع عن الصيام لتفادي الإصابة بهذه المضاعفات.

يؤدي تغيير النظام الغذائي مع عدم إجراء التعديل المناسب على جرعات ومواعيد الإنسولين و/أو أدوية السكري الأخرى، إلى تدهور السيطرة على مستوى السكر في الدم وزيادة خطر الإصابة بالمضاعفات.

علاوة على ذلك، فعندما يتزامن رمضان مع فصل الصيف كما هي الحال في الكويت،  فقد يؤدي الصيام لفترات طويلة إلى مخاطر كبيرة. ولذا فمن المهم مناقشة خطة العناية بالسكري خلال شهر رمضان المُبارك مع فريق الرعاية الطبية.

الاحتياطات و الإرشادات الواجب اتباعها لمن يقرر الصيام

إن من المهم الالتزام بالنظام الغذائي بحسب إرشادات فريق الرعاية الطبية، فالإفطار بعد غروب الشمس ليس مبررا للإكثار من تناول الطعام!

يجب تجنب تناول الأطعمة الغنية بالدهون والسكريات. كما يجب الحرص على تناول معظم احتياجاتك اليومية من الكربوهيدرات في وجبة السحور بدلا من وجبة الإفطار.

يجب على مريض السكري الإفطار في كل من الحالات التالية:

يجب الأخذ بعين الاعتبار أن الصلاة هي شكل من أشكال النشاط البدني،  وإن أي تغيير في النشاط البدني قد يؤثر على مستوى السكر في الدم.

يجب على مريض السكري الذي قرر الصيام الحرص على فحص مستوى السكر في الدم بشكل متكرر أثناء اليوم – علما بأن فحص السكر في الدم لا يُفطر، بالإضافة إلى إجراء التعديلات اللازمة على جرعات وتوقيت الأدوية حسب إرشادات فريق الرعاية الطبية.

 تذكر ما يلي حول السكري وشهر رمضان: