Living with Diabetes

Diabetes Tests/Check Ups

My Diabetes Care Plan

People with Diabetes must have regular health tests and checkups to stay healthy and control Diabetes for life. Track your Diabetes numbers and checkups with your healthcare team to reduce your risk for Diabetes complications. Read more

Testing Ketones

Ketones are made when your body breaks down fat to be used as a source of energy. Your body starts to get its energy from fat when the source of energy from sugar in the blood is not enough. For example, if you fail to take your insulin which means that the sugar in your blood is not going into the cells that need to use it for energy, your body may turn to using fat cells for energy. Read more

Tests for Diagnosis

There are different tests that may be used to diagnose Diabetes and pre-Diabetes. Test results indicating that a person has Diabetes should be confirmed with a second test on a different day. Read more

Understanding Your Tests

There is a lot you can do with the help of your healthcare team in order to control Diabetes and consequently reduce the risk of complications. Complications may affect your heart, blood vessels, feet, eyes, nerves or kidneys. Keeping your blood sugar, blood cholesterol, and blood pressure in the target range is essential. Gain knowledge and understand the different tests for staying healthy. Check the results with your healthcare team, and consider an action plan to keep your readings as close to your target goals as possible. Read more

What Do My Blood Sugar Numbers Mean?

Taking control of your Diabetes can help you feel better and stay healthy. Keeping your blood sugar close to normal reduces your chances of having heart and blood vessel, eye, kidney, and nerve problems. To control your Diabetes, you need to know your blood sugar numbers and your target goals. Read more

What is HbA1c?

The HbA1c (also known as A1C, glycated hemoglobin or glycosylated hemoglobin) test is a simple lab test that measures your average blood sugar level over the last two to three months. The higher the sugar levels in your blood, the higher your HbA1c result will be. The higher your HbA1c results are and the longer they stay high, the greater your chances of developing Diabetes complications. Read more

التعايش مع السكري

فحوصات السكري

برنامجي للعناية بالسكري

يجب أن يحرص مرضى السكري على إجراء الفحوصات والتحاليل الطبية اللازمة بانتظام وذلك للمحافظة على الصحة والسيطرة على السكري على المدى الطويل. عليك متابعة تطور السكري ونتائج الفحوصات مع فريق الرعاية الطبية الخاص بك للحد من خطر إصابتكَ بمضاعفات السكري. لقراءة المزيد

فحص الكيتونات

تنتج الكيتونات عند استخدام الدهون كمصدر للطاقة بدلا من السكر. فعلى سبيل المثال، عند عدم أخذ الإنسولين لا تستطيع الخلايا القيام باستهلاك السكر الموجود في الدم للحصول على الطاقة، عندها قد يلجأ الجسم إلى استخدام خلايا الدهون من أجل الحصول على الطاقة. لقراءة المزيد

فحوصات التشخيص

توجد العديد من الفحوصات التي يمكن أن تستخدم لتشخيص السّكري وما قبل السّكري. نتائج الفحوصات التي تشير إلى أن الشخص مصاب بالسّكري يجب تأكيدها بفحص ثان في يوم آخر. لقراءة المزيد

كيفية فهم فحوصات السكري

يمكنك القيام بالكثير بمساعدة فريق الرعاية الطبية للسيطرة على السّكري وبالتالي تقليل مخاطر الإصابة بمضاعفات. قد تؤثر المضاعفات على  القلب والشرايين والقدمين والأعصاب والكليتين. ولذلك فإن من المهم الحفاظ على مستوى السكر والكوليسترول في الدم وضغط الدم ضمن النطاق المستهدف. يساعدك في ذلك فهم أهمية الفحوصات المختلفة في المحافظة على صحتك. لقراءة المزيد

ماذا تعني قراءات مستوى السكر في الدم؟

أنت بحاجة إلى فهم قراءات السكر في الدم الخاصة بك ومعرفة المستوى الملائم لك حتى تتمكن من السيطرة عليه وبالتالي تشعر بتحسّن عام وتتمكن من المحافظة على صحتك. و مما تجدر الإشارة إليه، فإن المحافظة على مستوى السكر في الدم قريباً من المستويات الطبيعية من شأنه أن يقلل من مخاطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية، والعيون، والكلى، والأعصاب. لقراءة المزيد

ما هو اختبار HbA1c؟

عبارة عن فحص بسيط يجرى في المختبر لقياس متوسط مستوى السكر في الدم على مدى الشهرين أو الثلاثة شهور الماضية. وكلما زادت مستويات السكر في الدم ، كلما ارتفعت نتائج فحص.HbA1c وعدم تحسن مستواه لفترات طويلة يزيد احتمالات حدوث مضاعفات مرض السكري. لقراءة المزيد