Diabetes

Eyes and Vision

How can Diabetes hurt my eyes?

Diabetes increases your risk for many serious problems. Diabetes-related eye problems are common and lead to the deterioration of vision and, ultimately, blindness if left untreated. 

Diabetic retinopathy is the medical term for the most common Diabetes related eye problem. It is the leading cause of vision loss in adults (age 20-65 years). Having high blood sugar and high blood pressure for a long time can damage the small blood vessels of the retina in the back of your eye.

Retina damage happens slowly. First, the small blood vessels swell and become weak and leaky. Some blood vessels then become blocked. At this stage, retinopathy does not usually cause vision loss and you might not have symptoms. However, fluid may leak causing blurred vision and loss of sight which should be treated immediately.

As retina problems worsen, the blood vessels become so damaged and clogged, that in response, new blood vessels start growing. These blood vessels are very weak and can break easily and leak into the vitreous, the clear gel that fills the back of your eye, blocking vision.

Over time, the new blood vessels can form scar tissue and pull the retina away from the back of the eye. If this is not taken care of promptly, it can cause blindness.

What can I do about Diabetes retina problems?

Other eye problems that may affect people with Diabetes

Cataract and glaucoma are two other eye problems that can affect people with Diabetes. These conditions can affect people without Diabetes; however, people with Diabetes get these problems more often and at a younger age.
With cataracts, everything you look at seems cloudy as the lens of the eye, which is ordinarily clear, becomes cloudy, blocking light. You may need surgery to replace the lens in order to help you see clearly again.
Glaucoma results from pressure building up inside the eye. Over time, this pressure damages the retina and the eye’s main nerve leading to gradual vision loss. Drugs can be used to reduce the pressure in the eye and in some cases surgery may be needed.

Remember to consider the following:

السكري

العيون والإبصار

يزيد السكري من خطر الإصابة بالعديد من المضاعفات الخطيرة. ومنها مشاكل العيون الناتجة عن عدم السيطرة على السكري وهي شائعة  وقد تؤدي إلى ضعف البصر وحتى العمى إن لم يتم التنبه إليها ومعالجتها.

اعتلال الشبكية هو من أكثر مشاكل العيون الناتجة عن السكري شيوعا، ويعتبر السبب الرئيسي لفقدان البصر لدى الكبار (بين ٢٠ و ٦٥ عاماً). يؤدي ارتفاع مستوى السكر في الدم وضغط الدم لفترات طويلة إلى إحداث تلف في الأوعية الدموية الدقيقة في شبكية العين والتي تقع في الجزء الخلفي من العين.

يحدث تلف الشبكية بصورة بطيئة. ففي البداية تتورم الأوعية الدموية الدقيقة وتصبح ضعيفة وراشحة وقد تنسد بعض الأوعية الدموية فيما بعد. في هذه المرحلة، عادة لا يسبب اعتلال الشبكية فقدان البصر وقد لا يشعر المريض بأية أعراض. ومع ذلك، قد يحدث ارتشاح مما يسبب عدم وضوح في الرؤية أو فقدان للبصر والذي ينبغي معالجته على الفور.

مع تدهور حالة الشبكية، تصبح  الأوعية الدموية مسدودة ويصيبها التلف بالضعف ويحصل فيها انسداد، مما يؤدي إلى تكون أوعية دموية جديدة. لكن هذه الأوعية الدموية الجديدة تكون ضعيفة جدا بحيث يكون من السهل أن تتمزق وتحدث نزيف في الجسم الزجاجي وهو الهلام الشفاف الصافي الموجود خلف عدسة العين وأمام الشبكية، مما ينتج عنه فقدان القدرة على الإبصار.

مع مرور الوقت، يمكن أن تشكل الأوعية الجديدة ندبا تعمل على انفصال الشبكية عن قاع العين. وفي حال لم يتم العلاج في الوقت المناسب، قد يؤدي ذلك إلى الإصابة بالعمى.

ما الذي يمكن عمله لتفادي مشكلات الشبكية المرتبطة بالسكري؟

مشكلات أخرى في العين قد يعاني منها المصابون بالسكري

الكتاراكت (إعتام عدسة العين)، والجلوكوما (المياه الزرقاء) ، هي من المشاكل التي يمكن أن يصاب بها مرضى السكري. يمكن أن تحدث هذه المشاكل لدى الأشخاص الغير مصابين بالسكري، إلا أن مرضى السكري هم أكثر عرضة للإصابة بهذه المشاكل كما تحدث لديهم في عمر أصغر.

في حالة الكتاراكت (إعتام عدسة العين)، يصبح كل شىء ضبابياً وغير واضح وذلك لأن عدسة العين التي تكون في الأصل صافية، تصبح معتمة، مما يؤدي إلى حجب الرؤية. قد يحتاج المريض إلى إجراء عملية جراحية لاستبدال العدسة وذلك من أجل استعادة القدرة على الرؤية بوضوح.

تنتج الجلوكوما (المياه الزرقاء) عن ارتفاع الضغط داخل العين. وبمرور الوقت، يحدث هذا الضغط تلفاً في الشبكية وفي العصب البصري الرئيسي للعين مما يؤدي إلى فقدان تدريجي للبصر. قد تساعد بعض الأدوية في التخفيف من الضغط داخل العين وقد يحتاج البعض لإجراء عملية جراحية.

تذكر مراعاة الأمور التالية: