Living with Diabetes

Newly Diagnosed

Diabetes is a detrimental disease if a patient is unable to cope with it.  However, many people with Diabetes are leading a healthy and productive life with an understanding and comprehension of the condition.  The most difficult moment for most people is breaking the news of being a diabetic for the first time.   In fact, they might start imagining a dark and a rough journey in their lives that will affect their work, family and friends. Thus, a good starting point would be to share concerns and fears with your healthcare provider.  Most importantly, remember that Diabetes is a chronic condition that requires proper management at every transformational stage (joining school, new job, and pregnancy, sickness, travelling or relocating).  Therefore, you need the proper gear to ensure a good quality of life as a patient with Diabetes.  A good starting point would be calling the DKRC at Dasman Diabetes Institute.  Good Luck!
 
Living with Diabetes

We are sure that you’ve heard the following before: ‘eat healthy food, lose weight, monitor your blood sugar level more frequently, and be more physically active to cope with Diabetes’.  Are you fed up?  Realistically, you have the right to get fed up and angry.  However, research shows that watching your food intake with the help of a qualified dietician, losing 5-10% of your weight, monitoring your blood glucose more frequently, and dedicating 150 minutes/ week practicing a sport of your choice that suits your health and your overall condition would be effective and almost always have a positive result on Diabetes progression. 
 
Medications
 
Lifestyle modification alone might not be sufficient to manage Diabetes.   Hence, using medication is effective in coping with such a chronic condition.  There are different groups of glucose lowering medications including tablets and injectables (insulin, non- insulin).  Tablets and non-insulin injectable drugs have different mechanisms to lower the blood sugar. There are types that increase the insulin secretion from the pancreas, while others work by improving the cells’ sensitivity to the circulating insulin in the blood.  On the other hand, insulin is an injectable drug that resembles the body’s own hormone and it is nothing more than an external source of man’s own insulin with very few side effects. The choice of treatment depends on the HbA1c level, kidney, and liver function and it also depends on the significance of the initial response to the medications.  Those medications have variable levels of side effects from very mild to serious.  Thus, if the patient experiences any unusual event after taking the drugs, they should immediately see a doctor or ask the pharmacist.  
 
Getting Support
 

Your family and friends can provide you with a good support system especially if they understand Diabetes and your needs. Therefore, make sure that they learn about Diabetes. You can invite them to participate in our educational workshops that are held regularly at Dasman Diabetes Institute. Also, you can ask them to speak to our Medical Information Specialists.
 
Your Healthcare Team

Your healthcare team consists of your doctor, endocrinologist, pharmacist, educator, registered dietician, podiatrist, ophthalmologist (eye doctor), dentist, fitness specialist, psychiatrist, and YOURSELF.
 
Since you are the one who has Diabetes, you are the most important member of this team. It is you who takes the medicine, eats healthy meals, exercises, monitors blood sugar levels regularly, and you are the one who may struggle with any Diabetes problem! Therefore, it is important to work closely and regularly with the team members in order to control your Diabetes.
 
Summary
 
Although it is not easy to know that you have Diabetes, you should know that most people with Diabetes do not die due to Diabetes itself, but due to its complications if left untreated and uncontrolled. Therefore, you can easily have a normal and healthy life by following the aforementioned tips. Diabetes Kuwait Resource Team wishes you the best of health and happiness.

التعايش مع السكري

هل تم تشخيصك حديثا؟

يعتبر السُّكري مرضاً خطيرا في حال عدم السيطرة عليه. ومع ذلك، فإن العديد من المصابين بالسُّكري يتمتعون بحياة صحية، مفعمة بالحيوية ومليئة بالإنجازات نتيجة حرصهم على فهم كل مايتعلق بالسكري مما يساعد في السيطرة على هذا المرض. إن من أصعب اللحظات التي تواجه المصابين بالسكري هي معرفتهم بأمر إصابتهم بالسُّكري لأول مرة؛ حيث قد تراودهم أفكار حول الصعوبات والمخاطر الصحية التي سيواجهونها في حياتهم المقبلة، والتي من شأنها أن تؤثرعلى عملهم وعائلتهم وعلاقاتهم الاجتماعية. وبالتالي، فإنه لابد من التعبير عن قلقك ومشاركة مخاوفك مع طبيبك المعالج حين يتم تشخيص إصابتك بالسكري. والأهم من ذلك، أن تتذكَّرَ أن السُّكري حالة مرضية مزمنة تتطلب التعامل بحرص في كل مرحلة انتقالية (الالتحاق بالمدرسة، الوظيفة الجديدة، الحمل، المرض، السفر، أو الإنتقال). لذلك، فأنت بحاجة للتزود بالمعلومات والإرشادات الصحيحة والعمل بها للحفاظ على صحتك ولتتمكن من التعايش مع مرض السُّكري بالطريقة المناسبة. ولتكن أول خطوة نحو ذلك هي الاتصال بمركز سكر الكويت للمعلومات في معهد دسمان للسكري حيث يهدف المركز لتوفير التثقيف والدعم لك ولعائلتك في كل ما يتعلق بالسكري

التعايش مع مرض السُّكري

نحن على يقين بأنك سبق وأن سمعت النصائح التالية "تناول طعاماً صحياً، أنقص وزنك، افحص مستوى السكر في الدم مرات أكثر، مارس النشاط البدني بشكل أكبر لكي تتمكن من السيطرة على السُّكري".  فهل مللتَ من تكرار هذه النصائح؟ في الواقع، يحق لك أن تشعر بالاضطراب وربما اليأس في البداية ولكن معرفتك بالحقائق التالية سيساعدك في التخلص من هذه المشاعر السلبية أظهرتْ الأبحاث أن مراقبة ما تتناوله من طعام بناء على نصائح أخصائي التغذية، وخسارة ٥-١۰% من وزنك، وفحص مستوى السكر في الدم بشكل متكرر، وتخصيص ١٥۰ دقيقة في الأسبوع لممارسة الرياضة التي تستمتع بها وتتناسب مع وضعك الصحي، كل ذلك سيساعدك في الحصول على نتيجة جيدة وسيكون له الأثر الإيجابي على تطور مرض السُّكري.

 الأدوية

قد لا يكون تغيير نمط الحياة وحده كافياً للتحكم بمرض السُّكري، بالتالي فإنه يصبح من الضروري إضافة العلاج الدوائي إلى الخطة العلاجية للمساهمة في السيطرة على هذه الحالة المرضية المزمنة. هناك مجموعات مختلفة من الأدوية تعمل على خفض مستوى السكر في الدم ومنها الأقراص والإنسولين وأدوية أخرى تؤخذ عن طريق الحقن غير الإنسولين. تعمل الأقراص والأدوية التي تؤخذ عن طريق الحقن وفق آليات مختلفة لخفض مستوى السكر في الدم حيث أن هناك أنواع تزيد من إفراز الإنسولين في البنكرياس، بينما يعمل البعض الآخر من خلال تحسين حساسية الخلايا للإنسولين في الدم. أماالإنسولين، وهو يؤخذ عن طريق الحقن، فهو مماثل لهرمون الإنسولين الذي يفرزه جسم الإنسان. تعتمد خيارات العلاج على مستوى  السكر التراكمي أو التجسسي (HbA1c)، ووظائف الكلى والكبد كما تعتمد أيضاً على مدى الاستجابة الأولية للأدوية. قد تسبب هذه الأدوية بعض الآثار الجانبية المختلفة والتي تتراوح ما بين الخفيفة إلى الخطيرة. وبالتالي، في حال شعور المريض بأية أعراض بعد تناول الأدوية، يتوجب عليه مراجعة الطبيب أو الصيدلي مباشرة.

الحصول على المساعدة والدعم

إن عائلتك وأصدقاءك المقربين هم أفضل من يقدم لك الدعم خاصة إذا على دراية كافية باحتياجاتك وكيفية التعامل مع السكري. لذلك، تأكد من توعيتهم حول السُّكري، ويمكنك دعوتهم للمشاركة في ورش العمل التثقيفية التي تُجرى بشكلٍ منتظم في معهد دسمان للسكري. كما يسر فريق مركز سكر الكويت للمعلومات تلقي اتصالاتهم حيث سيقوم أحد أخصائيي المعلومات الطبية لدينا بالإجابة عن كل تساؤلاتهم فيما يخص السكري.

فريق الرعاية الطبية الخاص بك

يتألف فريق الرعاية الطبية الخاص بك من الطبيب، وأخصائي الغدد الصماء، والصيدلي، وأخصائي التثقيف، وأخصائي التغذية، وأخصائي القدم، وطبيب العيون، وطبيب الأسنان، وأخصائي اللياقة البدنية، والطبيب النفسي، بالإضافة إلى أهم عضو في فريق الرعاية الطبية وهو أنت!!

 وبما أنك الشخص المصاب بالسُّكري، فأنت تعتبر أهم عضو من أعضاء الفريق لأنك من يقوم بالعناية بالسكري على مدار اليوم فأنت من يتناول الأدوية، ويختار الطعام الصحي، ويمارس التمارين الرياضية، ويراقب مستوى السُّكر في الدم بانتظام، كما أنك أنت من قد تعاني من أية مضاعفات مرتبطة بالسُّكري! لذلك، فإنه من الضروري أن تعملَ بشكل وثيق ومنتظم مع أعضاء الفريق من أجل السيطرة على مرض السُّكري.

 الملخص

على الرغم من صعوبة وقع نبأ إصابتك بمرض السُّكري عليك، فإنه من الضروري أن تكون على دراية بأن مرض السكري بحد ذاته ليس السبب المباشر للوفاة لدى غالبية المصابين به، إنما هي المضاعفات المرتبطة بالسكري إذا ما تركت بدون علاج أو لم تتم السيطرة عليها بالشكل المناسب. لذلك، يمكنك ببساطة التمتع بحياة طبيعية وصحيَّة عن طريق اتِّباعك للنصائح سالفة الذكر. ويتمنى لكم فريق مركز سكر الكويت للمعلومات موفور الصحة والعافية والسعادة.